new to MB: help! my framerate SUCKS!

Let's talk about the port of the port of the port of the update of the port of the port of the update of the expansion of the game that will apparently never be awesome enough.

Moderator: Staffers

new to MB: help! my framerate SUCKS!

Unread postby quartz » May 8th, 2005, 3:37 am

Hey, I'm new to MB, so I apologize if any of these are stupid questions...

I have MB (japanese), and the MBR trial (english)... I recently tossed together some spare parts I had and made a new box, with the intent of using it mainly for MB... except now that I've fired everything up, I find the the frame rate on both games is terrible. I get maybe 1 frame every 4 or 5 seconds, even idling at the menu screen pegs the cpu.

These are the box's specs, can someone take a stab at a solution? (or tell me where I should be looking)

600EB mhz p3
intel desktop board D815EEA
256 ram
ATI rage pro turbo AGP, with I believe 8mb of ram on it
win2k with all the updates that I know of (including directx 9)
2 fresh HDs, so no fragmentation issues

now, I know the vid card is rather old, but MB is a 2D game and shouldn't need much in that department, right?

also- I'm not really a gamer, so there may be something totally obvious that I missed. be kind to me :)

anyway, TIA
quartz
Totally hardly posted

Re: new to MB: help! my framerate SUCKS!

Unread postby Fuyutski » May 9th, 2005, 12:34 am

quartz wrote:600EB mhz p3
intel desktop board D815EEA
256 ram
ATI rage pro turbo AGP, with I believe 8mb of ram on it
win2k with all the updates that I know of (including directx 9)
2 fresh HDs, so no fragmentation issues

now, I know the vid card is rather old, but MB is a 2D game and shouldn't need much in that department, right?